12th Annual Dayton Engineering Sciences Symposium (DESS 2016)



1 November 2016

Wright State University Student Union

Dayton, OH

Photos from the 12th DESS are now availble on Flickr, please follow the following link to access them:

12th DESS photos

Click here for the full Program

Click here for the program-at-a-glance

Hosted by the American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME) Dayton Section, the symposium is designed to facilitate communication between members of the regional technical community, as well as to provide a forum for students (K-12, undergraduate, and graduate), engineers, and researchers to present their work. The symposium program includes seven parallel sessions in the morning and afternoon, a luncheon and keynote address, sponsor exhibits, and poster session.


Useful information in PDF format:

Call for Abstracts

Driving Directions to Wright State Univ.

Parking Information for DESS

Map of Wright State Univ. Campus

Map of Student Union

We are excited to announce that our keynote speaker for the 12th DESS will be Dr. Elizabeth Hsiao-Wecksler, Professor and Willett Faculty Scholar in the Department of Mechanical Science and Engineering (MechSE) at the University of Illinois at Urbana-Champaign. please see the Keynote Flier below for more details.

Keynote Flier (PDF)

The symposium relies on sponsors for financial support to help keep registration costs low and allow recognition of the award winners. If interested in becoming a sponsor, please contact Sivaram Gogineni (goginesp@gmail.com)  We would like to thank and recognize our sponsors for this years event:


Platinum level:

Photron High Speed Cameras

Gold level:

Cradle North America      University of Dayton Research Institute

Silver level:

Spectral Energies Inc.      Ohio Aerospace Institute      Innovative Scientific Solutions Inc.

Past DESS Events:

DESS 2015

DESS 2014

DESS 2013

DESS 2012

DESS 2011

DESS 2010

DESS 2009

DESS 2008

DESS 2007

DESS 2006

DESS 2005





Already have an account?  Login below to:

* Register for the symposium

* Check your account status

* Submit / update your abstract(s)

* Pay your registration fee





Forgot your Username/Password?  Enter your account email address below and click "Email me my Username & Password" to have them emailed to you:




Registration Rates:

General Registration $125.00

ASME Member $90.00

Luncheon and Keynote only $35.00

Student Non-presenter $35.00

Graduate Student Presenter $30.00

Undergraduate Student Presenter $10.00

High School Student Presenter - FREE

The 2016 DESS Organizing Committee:

General Chair - Joe Miller (dess@asmedayton.org)

Vice-Chair - Daniel Richardson

Past Chair - Drew Caswell

Registration/Website - Tim Leger (leger.2@wright.edu)

Technical Program - Ben Halls
     Tim Erdmann, Sam Nabolsi

Session Chair Organizer - Daniel Richardson

Venue/Facilities/AV/Food - Justin Warner
     Marcus Bracey, Tim Leger

Outreach - Ginger Ross
     AJ Rolling, Daniel Richardson

Student Chapter Relations - Darren Holland
     Josh Heyne, Marcus Bracey, Sivaram Gogineni

Sponsorship and Exhibits - Tim Erdmann
     Sivaram Gogineni

Keynote/Gifts - Drew Caswell
     Sivaram Gogineni

Communications - Ben Halls
     Tim Leger, Darren Holland

Public Relations - Chris Fugger
     Sivaram Gogineni, Rob Stachler

Government Approval - Brent Rankin

Chair, ASME Executive Board - Tim Leger

Treasurer - Vince Miller

Academic Representatives:

AFIT - Adedeji Badiru

Cedarville - Darren Holland

OSU - Datta Gaitonde

UC - Gutmark Ephraim

UD - David Myszka

UDRI - John Leland

WSU - Ramana Grandhi




For questions or comments about the event, please contact the DESS Committee <dess@asmedayton.org>

For problems with the DESS website, please contact the Webmaster<leger.2@wright.edu>